Tools for manual drawing

I wanted to make a quick post on what I’ve been using every 5am to draw my pages. I started with a 0.8 tech pen about 1.5 years ago and still have some of that stuff in the set. However, at some point I had to give in and buy a few other points so I could get some decent line weights. Given that my drawings are always on an 8.5×11 sheet, using a 0.8 pen throws off my scale almost always. I lost a lot of details and if I had kept at it the final art would look dark and heavy.

At first it was not an issue because I wanted to make single lines and digitally render them. When I finally got a set of pens I was amazed at the amount of detail I had been omitting just to make my drawings work due to a pen limitation. It was so basic it was silly.

photo 1-4

Anyway, so here is what I’ve been using. These are disposable tech pens with points from 0.05, 0.1, 0.2, 0.3, 0.5 and 0.8. I now almost always use the 0.05 to 0.3 range. I’ve had this for about 8 months maybe. The mech pencil I’ve had from almost the beginning. Almost 2 years ago. The eraser is maybe the 2nd one, since I lost the 1st one. Budget for the creation of the book was lean. I mean leeeeeeeeean. But now it has worked out because it helped me develop more discipline.

Techpens were a great choice for me since I’ve used them since I was around 15 years old or something, in my high school class. Thru college too, and now and then at my day job. In the end, I’d say use whatever works.

Feedback welcome!

