Kickstarter tasks

I have been up early or awake late at night working on the book. I am either working on the book itself or placing stuff together for the Kickstarter campaign. The Kickstarter material has been quite a distraction and actually takes time out of the book process. I had mentioned to a friend who I got permission from for some material in the book, that I am working on a Kickstarter campaign, and he said to forget about it and just focus on the book. He said it was a lot of work, and I am now confirming that it sure dang is.

I am too far in now to not do it. If I don’t do it then I cancel a lot of my prior efforts. Some of the big tasks for it were:

  • research-all of a sudden I am researching marketing and pricing. Definitely not my field. I did not want to put up a funding goal and be unable to deliver. I most certainly do not want to be buried in taxes and fees. Kickstarter has a fee, Amazon takes a fee, I will be taxed a big lump of sum and I need to pay for a bunch of other things like shipping and licenses.
  • I most definitely want to deliver a good quality hardcover, and I have been doing what I can to find a local or US based printing company. I always always always see a ton of children’s books being printed in Sheng Dong in China or someplace in China. I think I have seen a couple printed in the US. If I can find a competitive price and get it printed in the US, I will shoot for that.
  • My introduction video-it has not been easy mostly because I prefer to be behind the camera
  • The rewards-I do not want to price the book high and I cannot price it too low-or I end up being unable to deliver or deep in taxes and fees(as noted above).

Listing it down kind of makes it sound so easy. The truth is a ton of research happens with each one. Just figuring out the rewards tiers is a lot of work for me. And finding a decent local print shop will require some traveling and lots of communication.

Anyway, like I said I am too far in now. All I have left to do is to make the video for the campaign. I am thinking of just doing a slideshow and a voice over. I have never done one but it looked easy enough on youtube so that is the route I am taking.

Feedback welcome!

